Skip to main content

You are here

LABSS consortia

Consortia working group

Members from each of the seven consortia provide both management and technical expertise. The group plays a wide role in gathering and sharing common working practices as referenced by the objectives of consortia working. The group also monitors and oversees the development of the STAS and registered details schemes. Given the customer links between Scotland and the rest of the UK the group also has a development role with LABC to maximise the benefits joint and cross border working.

All of this work is carried out to target local authority and LABSS services including:-

The Local Authorities within LABSS work in local Consortia Groups aimed at supporting and encouraging

  • discussion/promotion of LABSS matters,
  • uniformity of interpretation,
  • partnership working,
  • continuous improvement/best value,
  • sharing knowledge and experience,
  • collation of information; and
  • customer dispute resolution.

Consortia Groups report to the LABSS Management Board.

The LABSS management structure confirms the role of the consortia in the organisation which is supported by the Model Constitution for LABSS Consortia .


Group 1: Southwest Scotland Building Standards Consortium (SWSBSC)

North Ayrshire, South Ayrshire, East Ayrshire and Dumfries and Galloway

Consortium Lead: No Current Lead in post - Scott McKenzie North Ayrshire Council  ( is standing in as the representative for the SWSBSC Consortium.

Consortium Technical Rep: John Rintoul North Ayrshire Council (


Group 2: Highlands and Islands consortium (H&IC)

Highland, Orkney, Shetland Islands and Western Isles

Consortium Lead: Glenn Campbell, Highland Council (

Consortium Technical Rep: Juan Del Valle Orkney Islands Council (


Group 3: Southeast Scotland Building Standards Consortium (SESBSC)

City of Edinburgh, Fife, Midlothian, East Lothian, West Lothian and Scottish Borders

Consortium Lead: Colin Wishart, Edinburgh City Council (

Consortium Technical Rep: Dave Smith, Scottish Borders Council (


Group 4: Tayside consortium (TC)

Dundee City, Angus and Perth and Kinross

Consortium Lead: Martin McLelland, Perth and Kinross Council (

Consortium Technical Rep: Martin McLelland, Perth and Kinross Council (


Group 5: Clyde Valley consortium (CVC)

Glasgow City, Argyll and Bute, East Dunbartonshire, East Renfrewshire, Inverclyde, Renfrewshire and West Dunbartonshire

Consortium Lead: Raymond Barlow, Glasgow City Council (

Consortium Technical Rep: John Gilluley, East Dunbartonshire Council (


Group 6: Central Authorities consortium (CAC)

North Lanarkshire, South Lanarkshire, Stirling, Falkirk and Clackmannanshire

Consortium Lead: John Paul Breslin, Stirling Council (

Consortium Technical Rep: John Rodgers, Falkirk Council  (


Group 7: Grampian consortium (GC)

Aberdeen City, Aberdeenshire and Moray

Consortium Lead: William Clark, Moray Council (

Consortium Technical Rep: Bill Geals, Aberdeenshire Council  (


Other Group Members:

LABSS Chair: Scott McKenzie North Ayrshire Council  (

LABSS Strategy Director: Neil Mitchell, Fife Council (​

Technical Director: Alan McAulay South Lanarkshire Council (

LABSS Business Support and Comminications Director: Pamela Clark, Aberdeenshire Council (